Hope, sanity, humanity: the Misery takes them all.

A war centuries in the making lies in stalemate across the Misery, a vast wasteland blasted into being when the Nameless tore open the sky.

Ryhalt Galharrow might have preferred to spend his remaining years drowning his past in a brandy bottle, but the republic faces annihilation and he never did like losing. When a raven tattoo rips itself from his arm to deliver a desperate message, Galharrow races to protect a mysterious woman who commands power in more ways than one. Together they discover that the towering Engine, a weapon that brought stalemate to eighty years of war, may have failed – and with its failure, the republic’s destruction approaches.  Even as they come under attack from dark immortals, they uncover a conspiracy within the citadel: traitors, flesh-eaters and the ghosts of the wastelands seek to destroy them, but if they cannot solve an ancient wizard’s paradox, the Deep Kings will take their terrible vengeance, and all will be lost.

I’m not much of a one for labels, but people like to say ‘gritty’ when they read my book. When people ask me what it’s about I’ve started to say “fast paced epic fantasy with grimdark themes.”

I like to think that it doesn’t pull any punches. My editors are Gollancz and Ace have drawn comparisons to the books of David Gemmell, George RR Martin, Joe Abercrombie… and the Mad Max movies. Make of that what you will!

At its heart, however, Blackwing is a story about people. Hard, funny, kind, cold, caring, brutal, hopeful, cruel, desperate people. And

Oh, and swords. And crows. Expect many of each.