Hope, sanity, humanity: the Misery takes them all.

A war centuries in the making lies in stalemate across the Misery, a vast wasteland blasted into being when the Nameless tore open the sky.


Ryhalt Galharrow might have preferred to spend his remaining years drowning his past in a brandy bottle, but the republic faces annihilation and he never did like losing. When a raven tattoo rips itself from his arm to deliver a desperate message, Galharrow races to protect a mysterious woman who commands power in more ways than one. Together they discover that the towering Engine, a weapon that brought stalemate to eighty years of war, may have failed – and with its failure, the republic’s destruction approaches.  Even as they come under attack from dark immortals, they uncover a conspiracy within the citadel: traitors, flesh-eaters and the ghosts of the wastelands seek to destroy them, but if they cannot solve an ancient wizard’s paradox, the Deep Kings will take their terrible vengeance, and all will be lost.

“Original world-building and unforgettable characters make Blackwing a dark, powerful debut.” – Brian Staveley, author of Skullsworn

Blackwing quickly gained the rare distinction of being one of those books that felt as if it had been written especially for me…Ed McDonald handles the action with a deft hand and has created a compelling central character who remains likeable despite a lengthy list of flaws. A remarkably assured fantasy debut that mixes of the inventiveness of China Miéville with the fast-paced heroics of David Gemmell.”—Anthony Ryan, New York Times bestselling author of The Legion of Flame

Blackwing is potent, gritty, bloody, and splendid.”—Faith Hunter, New York Times bestselling author of Cold Reign

Blackwing is a bloody, gritty fantasy novel that manages not to sacrifice its heart.  I love the world, which feel strange and lived-in, and strength of the voice is fantastic.  Fans of Glen Cook’s The Black Company or Joe Abercrombie’s The First Law series will be very happy with this one.” – Django Wexler, author of The Guns of Empire

“This is an astonishingly accomplished debut – McDonald is definitely one to watch.” – Peter Mclean, author of Drake

“A real page turner? Check. Grizzled old soldier protagonist with regrets, a drink problem and a heart of gold? Check. Fiendish layered conspiracy for our Captain Galharrow to uncover? Check.
I heartily recommend this.” – Adrian Selby, author of Snakewood

 

Gollancz Coverblackwing-cover